Health / Life

Why I’m pro-choice?

I know what your thinking, I’m a guy so I really shouldn’t have an opinion on this subject but…..its my blog and I have a lot to say about this topic.

My girl-friend has told me, “I will never need an abortion.” But being  pro-choice is very important to me, and it’s also very important to her and I’m glad that I found a partner who shares that belief.

I am pro-choice because I believe women’s lives matter. I think women themselves are the best people to decide when and if they get pregnant, GIVE BIRTH, and raise children. The right to control your own reproduction is a fundamental right for women, and is protected both under our Constitution and basic human rights ideals — which includes the right to prevent pregnancy, the right to get pregnant, the right to carry a pregnancy to term, and the right to terminate a pregnancy. If we outlaw a woman’s right to terminate a pregnancy, there is no legal argument against forcing a woman to terminate a pregnancy, or disallowing certain people from reproducing.

Here’s where it may get touchy to some of you who are pro-life but I’m also pro-choice because I believe that forcing women to carry pregnancies against their will is involuntary servitude. Children should be wanted, their entrances into the world should be joyous occasions and they should never be considered punishment. I want my girl-friend to be physically and emotionally healthy. I don’t believe that pregnancy should be a punishment (or, as anti-choicers say, a “consequence”) of sex.  I realize that my girl-friend’s rights to birth control, to have children, to make her own decisions, to be a fully autonomous human being all hinge on her very basic ability to decide when and if she reproduces.

There is a positive impact that the pro-choice movement has had in the United States. Women go to college at the same rates as men. They can define themselves selves as something other than mothers, or as mothers and something else. We men can be nurturing too, and are expected to take part in raising their children. Families can be planned. Parents of both sexes spend more time with their kids than ever before.

A lot of the time, women get pregnant and lose their chance at an education, lose their job, ruin their health, and sometimes die because the permissible calculation of how much risk of death a woman can be forced to bear is imperfect, at best. Forcing a perfectly healthy adult woman to give birth against her will is bad enough, but it’s far from the worst that happens under “pro-life” laws.

Now, on a more realistic level; I honestly believe that terminating a pregnancy during the first weeks means terminating the development of something that is smaller than a grain of rice, that has no real neurological development, that is not discernibly anything but a cluster of developing organic matter in a woman’s uterus. These early abortions are not especially problematic from a bio-ethical point of view. So why do those who want to ban abortion promote stalling techniques, such as parental notification laws and waiting periods, that force women to wait until later in the pregnancy, when the fetus has developed further? Why do these protesters stand at the doors of abortion clinics and intimidate women into rescheduling their appointments for a later date? Why, if it’s really about the fetus?

From experience and what me and my girl-friend researched, condoms, if used correctly, are 98% effective in preventing pregnancies, modern birth control pills, if used correctly, are 99.5% to 99.9% effective in preventing pregnancies. Use of redundant prophylaxis can make the odds of pregnancy prohibitively low, and that’s before we introduce the possibility of emergency contraception–which is 89% effective in preventing fertilization of an egg even if other birth control methods have failed. So why are abortion opponents fighting all of these medical alternatives to abortion, working as hard as they can to ensure that sexually active women will have unplanned pregnancies and face the dilemma of abortion?

See to me, the abortion debate isn’t actually about abortion. It’s about increasing the consequences of sex so that more people will choose abstinence. If everyone who has an unplanned pregnancy has to choose between a dangerous illegal abortion and giving birth, that’ll show them, won’t it? Is sex really worth the bio-ethical consequences of abortion, someone might ask? Is sex really worth all that? Better to be abstinent and not have to deal with these problems.

Not mention its a religious issue. Christians, for example, say its a sin but my opinion still stands, defending a woman’s right to choose is not always popular, but it is the right thing to do. I know I’m a guy but this is not just a woman’s issue, its a human rights issue which in saying that makes me have a say so. Your Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

