Health / Life

Can babies feel the umbilical cord being cut off?

Didn’t know these even exist but the above picture is a diagram of a “umbilical cord cutter retainer”.

This may be a no-brainer question but hey, I didn’t know.

I was thinking about babies recently (go figure) and me being a guy,  I was just curious. Here’s what I found…

I found out that the cord itself is made of tissue and no nerve endings which leads many to say that nothing is felt when it is cut. However, it can at least be felt from an energetic perspective as it definitely did connect baby and mom for quite some time. The umbilical cord also supplies the infant with much needed blood and oxygen as she starts life. The cord can be left untouched until at least it stops pulsating to allow for the blood and oxygen to flow to the baby.

Just for fun (and according to my girlfriend, for future reference) I found a neat video for us men. It shows how to cut the umbilical cord.

2 thoughts on “Can babies feel the umbilical cord being cut off?

  1. awsome piece of information, I had come to know about your website from my friend vinod, indore,i have read atleast seven posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your blog gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanks a ton once again, Regards, babies

Leave a Reply

